© 2024 Lakeshore Public Media
8625 Indiana Place
Merrillville, IN 46410
Public Broadcasting for Northwest Indiana & Chicagoland since 1987
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Indiana Casts Its 11 Electoral College Votes

Brandon Smith
IPB News

Indiana cast its 11 electoral votes for President Donald Trump Monday as the nation’s Electoral College helps wrap up the 2020 presidential election.

It was a brief and straightforward process, held in the Indiana House of Representatives chamber. Indiana’s electors are chosen by the state party conventions, earlier in the year. Because Trump won the state, the Indiana Republican Party electors cast their ballots.

They were quickly counted before Secretary of State Connie Lawson wrapped up the meeting.

“The ballots cast for the president of the United States have been tabulated," Lawson said. "All 11 votes have been cast for Donald J. Trump.”

According to the Secretary of State’s office, Indiana has never had a so-called “faithless elector” – someone who cast their ballot for the candidate who did not win the most votes in the state.

Contact reporter Brandon at bsmith@ipbs.org or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Related Content